OFB Update – soregonag@gmail.com – Gmail

Farm Bureau Proud at 82nd OFB Annual Meeting

About 200 Farm Bureau members from around Oregon arrived in Gleneden Beach last week for the 82nd OFB Annual Meeting, Dec. 10-11, and had a great few days of grassroots policy work, state and national ag issue updates, exceptional speakers, fun, and fellowship.

The event kicked off with the OFB Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee’s Communication Skills Conference, followed by the YF&R dinner and mock discussion meet.

At the heart of the annual meeting was the convening of the OFB House of Delegates, a grassroots body comprised of family farmers and ranchers from across the state. The group met to discuss and vote upon OFB Policy, elect members of the OFB Board of Directors, and hear presentations from distinguished guests, including Congressman Greg Walden (by video); Dr. John Dardis, ag expert with the Embassy of Ireland in Washington DC; Oregon Rep. Cliff Bentz; Ron Anglin of Oregon Dept. of Fish & Wildlife; Ryan Yates of American Farm Bureau; Paulette Pyle of Oregonians for Food & Shelter; Katie Pearmine of Oregon Food Bank, among others.

Special congratulations to newly elected OFB 1st Vice President Peggy Browne of Baker County, who had served as 3rd Vice President since 2010. Also to newly elected OFB 2nd Vice President Angela Bailey of Multnomah County, and reelected OFB 3rd Vice President Barb Iverson of Clackamas County. Welcome to new OFB Regional Directors on the board, Carol Marie Leuthold of Tillamook County and Larry Duyck of Washington County.

Also, congratulations to the county Farm Bureau presidents newly elected this year: Don Anderson, president Columbia County Farm Bureau; Matthew Brady, president of Douglas County Farm Bureau; and John Moxley, president of Klamath-Lake County Farm Bureau.

This has been an exceptional year in many ways for Farm Bureau, and the number of awards given during the OFB Annual Banquet on Dec. 11 reflected that.

Congratulations to all award winners! (See press releases on all recipients listed below: http://www.oregonfb.org/media/press-releases/ )

Klamath County’s Tracey Liskey inducted into Oregon Farm Bureau Hall of Fame

Jackson County’s Ron Bjork inducted into Oregon Farm Bureau Hall of Fame

Baker County’s Peggy Browne elected as Oregon Farm Bureau 1st Vice President

Multnomah County’s Angela Bailey elected OFB 2nd VP & honored with Outstanding Farm Bureau Woman Award

Oregon Farm Bureau thanks retiring OFB Board members

Jackson County’s Glenn Archambault honored with Farm Bureau Top Hand Award

Grant County’s Shaun Robertson honored with Farm Bureau Top Hand Award

Coos County’s Sharon Waterman honored with Outstanding Farm Bureau Woman Award

Four receive Farm Bureau Service to Agriculture Awards

Yamhill County’s Marie Schmidt honored with Outstanding County Farm Bureau Secretary Award

OFS’s Paulette Pyle honored with Oregon Farm Bureau President’s Award

Klamath County’s Bob Flowers honored with Farm Bureau Memorial Award

Find many photos from throughout the OFB Annual Meeting here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/16289643@N08/ (Also find photos on OFB’s Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ofbinfo or send a request to annemarie@oregonfb.org )

See the Capital Press story on OFB President Barry Bushue’s address to the House of Delegates: Farm Bureau leader recounts “whirlwind year”

Also a big thank you to Dec. 9 social hour sponsor Capitol Chevrolet and Dec. 10 lunch sponsor COUNTRY Financial.

Thank you to all the Farm Bureau members who made a trip to the coast for the OFB Annual Meeting. You make us #FarmBureauProud!

via OFB Update – soregonag@gmail.com – Gmail.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login